

University of Pretoria Yearbook 2023

Mathematical morphology 820 (WTW 820)

Qualification	Postgraduate
Faculty	Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences
Module credits	1.00
NQF Level	09
Prerequisites	Measure Theory and Functional Analysis on honours level
Contact time	1 lecture per week
Language of tuition	Module is presented in English
Department	Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
Period of presentation	Semester 1

Module content

Mathematical morphology – a theory for the analysis of special structures and a powerful methodology for the extraction of useful information from images. Morphological operators and their properties: erosion, dilation, opening, closing, granulometries. Applications to noise removal, filtering, extraction of features, edge detection, etc. LULU operators - properties and applications. Partial differential equations for morphological operators.

Regulations and rules

The regulations and rules for the degrees published here are subject to change and may be amended after the publication of this information.

The General Academic Regulations (G Regulations) and General Student Rules apply to all faculties and registered students of the University, as well as all prospective students who have accepted an offer of a place at the University of Pretoria. On registering for a programme, the student bears the responsibility of ensuring that they familiarise themselves with the General Academic Regulations applicable to their registration, as well as the relevant faculty-specific and programme-specific regulations and information as stipulated in the relevant yearbook. Ignorance concerning these regulations will not be accepted as an excuse for any transgression, or basis for an exception to any of the aforementioned regulations.

University of Pretoria Programme Qualification Mix (PQM) verification project

The higher education sector has undergone an extensive alignment to the Higher Education Qualification Sub-Framework (HEQF) across all institutions in South Africa. In order to comply with the HEQSF, all institutions are legally required to participate in a national initiative led by regulatory bodies such as the Department of Higher



Education and Training (DHET), the Council on Higher Education (CHE), and the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA). The University of Pretoria is presently engaged in an ongoing effort to align its qualifications and programmes with the HEQSF criteria. Current and prospective students should take note that changes to UP qualification and programme names, may occur as a result of the HEQSF initiative. Students are advised to contact their faculties if they have any questions.